Family Laws

Family Laws

Family law (also called matrimonial law or the law of domestic relations) is an area of the law that deals with family matters and domestic relations.

Subjects that commonly fall under a nation’s body of family law include

  • Marriage, civil unions, and domestic partnerships
  • Entry into legally recognized spousal and domestic relationships
  • The termination of legally recognized family relationships and ancillary matters, including divorce, annulment, property settlements, alimony, child custody and visitation, child support and alimony awards
  • Adoption: proceedings to adopt a child and, in some cases, an adult.
  • Child protective proceedings: court proceedings that may result from state intervention in cases of child abuse and child neglect.
  • Juvenile law: Matters relating to minors including status offenses, delinquency, emancipation and juvenile adjudication.
  • Paternity: proceedings to establish and disestablish paternity, and the administration of paternity testing.

Various Areas of Practice

  • Succession
  • Registration of Marriage
  • Polygamy
  • Talaq
  • Khula
  • Custody of Children
  • Dissolution of Marriage
  • Maintenance
  • Dower
  • Child maintenance

Relevant Legislation

 Guardians and Wards Act, 1890

Child Marriage Restraint Act, 1929

Dissolution of Muslim Marriages Act, 1939

Muslim Family Laws Ordinance, 1961

(West Pakistan) Muslim Personal Law (Shariat) Application Act, 1962

(West Pakistan) Family Courts Act, 1964

Offence of Zina (Enforcement of Hudood) Ordinance, 1979

Law of Evidence (Qanun-e-Shahadat) Order, 1984

Enforcement of Sharia Act, 1991

Dowry and Bridal Gifts (Restriction) Act, 1976

Prohibition (Enforcement of Hudood) Order, 1979

Offence of Qazf (Enforcement of Hudood) Order, 1979